Breaking News: Bukola Saraki Wins Senate Presidency Unopposed

Senator Bukola Saraki has reportedly won Senate presidency unopposed.

The Chairman, Senate committee on Environment and Ecology had boycotted the mock election organised by the All Progressives Congress (APC) where Ahmed Lawan emerged as the party’s choice for Senate Presidency. He decided to run with former Speaker and member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Ike Ekweremadu, a decision that won him the support of the 49 elected Senators of the PDP.

Apparently seeing that he stood no chance, Ahmed Lawan did not run for the seat, making Saraki the only candidate.

The former governor of Kwara State was one of the five PDP governors who left the party to form the All Progressives Congress (APC) in a merger with other opposition parties at the time.

The PDP has also adopted Dogara for House Speakership. The lawmaker had lost to Femi Gbajabiamila in the mock election organised by the APC. He is also expected to win the Speaker seat in the House of Representatives.