APC Disowns Saraki, Dogara, To Take Disciplinary Action


The Leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has rejected the emergence of Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and House of Representatives Speaker respectively.

The party had earlier elected Senator Ahmed Lawan and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila to run for election to the National Assembly seats at a mock election which Saraki and Dogara rejected. The APC had urged them to support the candidates it chose to represent the party but they declined.

In a reaction to the victories of Saraki and Dogara, the APC has released a statement which may be the beginning of the party’s fall.

“Senator Bukola and Hon. Dogara are not the candidates of the APC and a majority of its National Assembly members-elect for the positions of Senate President and House Speaker,” a statement by the party said.

“The party duly met and conducted a straw poll and clear candidates emerged for the posts of Senate President, Deputy Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives, supported by a majority of all Senators-elect and members-elect of the House of Representatives.

“All National Assembly members-elect who emerged on the platform of the party are bound by that decision. The party is supreme and its interest is superior to that of its individual members. Consequently, the APC leadership is meeting in a bid to reestablish discipline in the party and to mete out the necessary sanctions to all those involved in what is nothing but a monumental act of indiscipline and betrayal to subject the party to ridicule and create obstacles for the new administration. There can be no higher level of treachery, disloyalty and insincerity within any party,” the statement read.