Kwabena Agyapong replaces Mac Manu on electoral reform committee

Politics of Wednesday, 11 March 2015


Kwabena Agyei Adjapong Reforms Committee

General Secretary of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Kwabena Agyei Agyapong has replaced Peter Mac Manu on the Electoral Commissions Electoral Reform Committee.

Information available to indicates that Peter Mac Manu called for the replacement because he will not be available for most of the committee’s meetings.

The Electoral Commission (EC) on January 23, 2015 inaugurated a ten-member committee to oversee the implementation of electoral reforms ahead of the 2016 general elections.

The committee chaired by a member of the EC, Georgina Opoku Amankwa, included Peter Mac Manu (NPP), Asiedu Nketia (NDC), Christian Owusu Parry (EC), Mrs Rebecca Kabuki, James Kwabena Bomfeh (CPP), Anim Kofi Addo, Kwesi Jonah, Ransford Gyampoh and Franklin Oduro.

Ghana recorded a landmark case brought before the Supreme Court by the New Patriotic Party (NPP) over what the party described as widespread irregularities during the 2012 Presidential elections.

The Supreme Court after its ruling made some recommendations to the EC for a possible reform in the way elections are organised in Ghana.

Several political parties and civil society organisations subsequently made some proposals to that effect.

The Committee is expected to scrutinize the proposals and make recommendations to the EC for implementation.