EXCLUSIVE: Ghana U20 coach Sellas Tetteh excludes Europe-based duo Evans Osei and Paul Quaye from final squad for 2015 AYC

Ghana U20 team during the qualifiers.

Ghana U20 team during the qualifiers.

Ghana coach Sellas Tetteh has shockingly axed Europe-based duo Evans Osei and Paul Quaye from his provisional squad to settle on his final 21 for the 2015 African Youth Championship.

Asante Kotoko left-back Emmanuel Asante and youngster Abass Issah of Asokwa Deportivo, who was drafted into the team from the banned Ghana U17 team, were also evicted.

Africanfootball.com understands Issah could have made the squad but for an injury he sustained in training and the technical team did not to gamble on that.

Bologna midfielder Osei and Quaye of Spanish side Malaga could not convince the 2009 FIFA U20 World Cup winning coach.

The squad includes some stellar players from the Ghana Premier League- defender Joe Aidoo, midfielders Emmanuel Antwi and Asiedu Attobrah and striker Samuel Afful.

Right To Dream Academy’s Yaw Yeboah and Yakubu Mohamed are surviving members from the 2013 Ghana U17 team who have graduated.

Also in the squad is Clifford Aboagye, who was named bronze ball winner at the 2013 FIFA U20 World Cup in Turkey.

The Black Satellites are currently based in Antalya, Turkey where they have been trimming the rough egdes for the tournament in Senegal.

On Wednesday, they beat Azerbaijan 2-1 in a friendly and will face Iran on 02 March before flying back to Africa.

Ghana open its campaign in Group B against South Africa on 09 March in M’Bour before playing Zambia and Mali.

Ghana U20 final squad:
Goalkeepers: Mutawakilu Seidu (Accra Hearts of Oak), Michael Sai (Berekum Chelsea) and Kwame Baah (Heart of Lions)

Defenders: Joseph Owusu Bempah (Accra Hearts of Oak), Patrick Asmah (B. A. Utd), Joseph Adjei (Wa All Stars), Joe Aidoo (Inter Allies), Stephen Anokye Badu (BA United), Yakubu Mohammed (DC United), Kingsley Fobi (Tema Youth).

Midfielders: Kofi Yeboah (Wa All Stars), Yaw Yeboah (Right to Dream), Attobrah Asiedu (New Edubiase), Prosper Kassim (Inter Allies) Emmanuel Antwi (Liberty Professionals), Samuel Tetteh (WAFA), Michael Otoo ( UniStars), Clifford Aboagye (Granada).

Strikers: Samuel Afful (Hasaacas), Benjamin Tetteh (Dream FC), Joshua Osabutey (Tema Youth).

For more Ghana football news visit www.ghanasoccernet.com

More Sports News »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.