Collins Dauda’s removal will not affect Ministry – Mpiani

Politics of Wednesday, 18 February 2015


Kwadwo Mpiani New

Former Chief of Staff in the Kufour administration, Kwadwo Mpiani has indicated that the removal of the Water Resource Works and Housing Minister, Alhaji Collins Dauda from cabinet will have no negative impact on the ministry’s performance.

“I don’t think it will really affect the work of the minister or the ministry,” he added.

President John Dramani Mahama removed the Ministry of Water Resources Works and Housing from the list of his cabinet on Tuesday.

The Ministry was replaced with the Ministry of Power.

Speaking on Eyewitness News, Mr Mpiani said cabinet ministers are those that attend cabinet meetings and make decisions with the president.

“Cabinet ministers are supposed to be senior ministers, they hold positions to important ministries and they attend cabinet meetings,” he added.

The former Chief of Staff adds that this whole idea of cabinet ministers and non-cabinet ministers, “I think is a product of Parliamentary democracy where the Prime Minister determines which of his ministries are important to be regarded as cabinet ministries.”

“If you take the US system, all secretaries are all members of cabinet; they don’t have this system where some are regarded as cabinet ministers or not. Cabinet ministers are supposed to be senior ministers, they hold positions to important ministries and they attend cabinet meetings.”

He added that in Ghana, “we have a blend of both the Parliamentary and the Executive President system. What we do here, all ministers attend meetings despite the law restraining it. They all take part in cabinet deliberations.”

Below is the new Cabinet list submitted to Parliament

Ministry of Finance

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration

Ministry of Defence

Ministry of Petroleum

Ministry of Interior

Ministry of Trade and Industry

Ministry of Justice and Attorney-General Department

Ministry of Roads and Highways

Ministry of Food and Agriculture

Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources

Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development

Ministry of Health

Ministry of Education

Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations

Ministry of Transport

Ministry of Power

Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation

Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection

Ministry of Communications