GHAMRO holds elections immediately

Entertainment of Wednesday, 11 February 2015

Source: Daily Guide

GHAMRO 2015 Elections Nominees

An Accra High Court yesterday dismissed a case filed by Gyedu Blay Ambolley and two others to place an injunction on the Ghana Music Right Organisation (GHAMRO) elections scheduled for today.

Ambolley, C.K. Morrison and Ama Afriyie were in court with their counsel, Lawyer B. Eshun, to seek for an ex-parte interim injunction to restrain GHAMRO and its Receiver Managers from conducting today’s elections.

The complainants cited late submission of polls and expiration of time as their reasons for the action but GHAMRO’s lawyer, Opoku Adusei, opposed the motion and argued that notices of polls were served as far back as January 7 and even published in the national dailies.

The court, presided over by His Lordship Justice Anthony Oppong, dismissed the application to pave way for the elections.

Tuesday’s development followed an earlier postponement of the elections from December 6, 2014 to February 11 due to an interlocutory injunction sought from the court by Rex Boateng and George Dickson, among others, to allow all individual stakeholders pick forms, contest and campaign for the vacant positions.

With this development, all is set for the GHAMRO elections today. All music right owners are expected to cast their votes at CIBT-Social Advance (Adjacent Teachers Hall) in Accra, Apatakese Ase in Kumasi and the Cultural Centre in Tamale.

Last year a Human Rights Court setup the interim board to operate for six months, with the task of receiving, managing royalties on behalf of the right owners and seeing to the appointment of a permanent board for GHAMRO.

As it stands, music maestro Kojo Antwi will be going unopposed for the chairmanship position of GHAMRO while the rest vie for the vice chairman (producer), vice chairman (composer), board member (producer) and board member (composer) positions.

After the votes are counted and the results announced, the interim board at GHAMRO will swear in the elected board on February 27.