Asamoah Gyan can’t explain substitution before penalty shootout against Ivory Coast

Soccer News of Monday, 9 February 2015

Source: GHANAsoccernet.com

Asamoah Gyan Press Brazil

Ghana captain Asamoah Gyan says he is unable to explain his substitution just before the penalty shootout defeat to Cote d’Ivoire in the final of the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Black Stars crashed to a disappointing 9-8 defeat in the shootout despite taking a 2-0 lead after the game had ended goalless in regulation and extra time on Sunday.

Ghana were hoping to end their over three-decade wait for an African Cup title, but rather in the end were cursing their luck with another failed attempt with a penalty shootout.

Gyan was expected to be amongst the takers in the exercise, but was replaced just before the referee blasted his whistle to end extra time.

The Al Ain ace who had ceded responsibility as the number one penalty taker for the team sat helpless on the bench as he watched his side lose the final.

“I cannot explain that,” Gyan said.

“The coach made a decision and we have to respect that.”

Comments