Election C’tee can’t make constitutional reforms – Gen. Mosquito

General News of Monday, 26 January 2015

Source: citifmonline.com

Johnson Asiedu Nketia NDC Gen Sec

The General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketia, has downplayed the elections reform committee’s ability to implement proposals that require constitutional amendments.

This, according to him, is because the constitutional review process has itself stalled, thereby making it impossible to add on.

The Electoral Commission (EC) last week set up a 10-member committee to reform Ghana’s electoral system.

This is aimed at averting the challenges which characterized the 2012 general elections.

In August 2014, political parties in Ghana under the Institute of Economic Affairs’ (IEA) Ghana Political Parties Programme (GPPP) made some proposals to the EC on electoral reforms to enhance the electoral system.

The setting up of the committee has been welcomed by the various political parties and Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) which have been pressurizing the EC to undertake the needed reforms as directed by the Supreme Court during the hearing of the election petition case which challenged the 2012 presidential results.

However, in an interview with Citi News, the NDC General Secretary, who is also a member of the reform committee insisted that it will be needless for them to make changes that will require constitutional amendments.

He pointed out that some of the demands which are being made by certain political parties and individuals if implemented will need an amendment to the 1992 constitution “and without amendment to the constitution, you cannot implement certain reforms.”

Mr. Asiedu Nketia added that the constitutional reform which is currently ongoing has been stalled “so I don’t think that it will be feasible for us to wish to make changes that will require constitutional amendment.”

The 10-member committee being chaired by a member of the EC, Georgina Opoku Amankwa has Peter Mac Manu (NPP), Asiedu Nketia (NDC), Christian Owusu Parry (EC), Mrs Rebecca Kabuki, James Kwabena Bomfeh (CPP), Anim Kofi Addo, Kwesi Jonah, Ransford Gyampoh and Franklin Oduro as its members.

They have been given up to three months to present their report to the EC.