EC sets up 10-member committee to oversee Supreme Court recommendations

The Electoral Commission has inaugurated a 10 member committee to oversee proposals for electoral reforms ahead of the crucial national elections next year.

The opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP) challenged the presidential results of the 2012 elections citing alleged discrepancies and irregularities.

The party was led by its presidential candidate, Nana Akufo-Addo, his running mate Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, and the then party’s National Chairman Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey.

After the eight-month hearing which saw the rejection of the petitioners’ case, the nine judges of the Supreme Court asked the Electoral Commission to institute certain reforms to improve Ghana’s electoral system.

The EC therefore inaugurated the 10-member committee Friday to consider the recommendations.

They are three representatives from the EC including its Director of Public Relations Christian Owusu Parry; representatives from four major political parties with governing National Democratic Congress (NDC) being represented by its General Secretary Asiedu Nketia, and former National Chairman of the opposition NPP, Mr. Mark Manu.

The remaining three members are coming from the civil society organizations which included Dr. Ransford Gyampo and Dr. Kwesi Jonah.

Chairman of the Electoral Commission, Dr. Kwadwo Afari Gyan charged the committee to separate the Supreme Court’s proposal into different requirements:

“Ones that require changes to existing laws, rules and regulations, and changes to administrative procedures and arrangement,

“Determine which proposals are worthy of adoption…it would not be possible to adopt everything that is contained in this document.

“Indicate the form in which each change to be adopted is to be incorporated into the electoral system bearing in mind its compatibility with the remaining aspect of the electoral system. That is very important, you can make a change but make sure the change you make does not conflict with other aspects of the electoral system”

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.