Gyan, Konadu all voted for Ronaldo

Ghana’s captain Asamoah Gyan and assistant Black Stars coach Maxwell Konadu all voted for Real Madrid’s talismanic figure Christiano Ronaldo to win the 2014 Ballon d’Or.

They were part of the overwhelming 37.66% who voted for the Portuguese. The full list of voters were released shortly after the 2014 Ballon d’Or winner was declared in Zurich.

Gyan’s second vote went to four time Ballon d’Or winner Lionel Messi but his third went to Toni Kroos who was not shortlisted for the final three.

It not clear why Maxwell Konadu voted as coach for Ghana when Kwasi Appiah was then the substantive coach but he also chose Lionel Messi and Thomas Mueller as second and third respectively.

For the media Michael Oti Adjei voted for Ronaldo, Philip Lahm and Manuel Neuer respectively. 

The World Player of the year is selected by votes from captains of national teams, coaches and top journalists.

Click here for who voted for who.

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.