Yaya Picks 4th Glo-CAF Awards

Toure (4th R)with trophy and other award winning after the event

Manchester City and Ivorian captain Yaya Toure last Thursday evening picked his fourth streak Glo-CAF Awards at a grandeur ceremony at the Eko Hotel, Lagos, Nigeria.

The 31-year old, since emerging as the king of African football, has not looked back, winning the prestigious award for four times running.

Having scored 20 goals from 35 English Premier League games, the burly midfielder shrugged off stiff competition from Nigeria’s goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama and Gabonese forward Pierre Aubameyang to retain his crown.

‘I thank everybody who made this possible. I always look for challenges to win something,’ he said in a post-event press conference.

Young Asisat Oshoala, a member of Nigeria’s 2014 Under-20 World Cup losing finalists, was adjudged the women’s player of the year as well as the youth player of the year.

The night of medley of football and entertainment saw Ghana taking a consolation of a post-humous award (Investment in sports infrastructure) to Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah as well as Asamoah Gyan and Kwadwo Asamoah making it in Africa’s finest XI.

Globacom Limited boss Dr Mike Adenuga Jnr. said, ‘The GLO-CAF Awards has over the years been firmly established as the most authentic platform to annually celebrate the success story that African football has become.

‘We have just completed a massive overhaul of our infrastructure to position our network on the leading edge of technology for the next decade of operations.’

President of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Alhaji Issah Hayatou praised Globacom saying, ‘Partnering Globacom for the past nine years perfectly portrays a successful union between a first class sport organization and a commercial enterprise, to elevate African football, rally the youth of Africa and celebrate Africa.’

E.S. Setif picked the club of the year award, while Algeria’s  Yacine Brahimi won the Most Promising talent award.

Kheireddine Madoui, for guiding ES Setif to win the last edition of the CAF Champions League, was adjudged the Best Coach, with Papa Bakary Gassama emerging as the Best Referee.

The night, which paraded great artistes from the continent such as Asem, P-Square, Soweto Gospel Choir, Flavour, Basketmouth, veteran trumpeter Hugh Masekela, among others, saw the Super Eagles winning the national team of the year award.

From Kofi Owusu Aduonum, Lagos

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.