Voting pattern: How Africans voted for Yaya Toure

Ghana and Al Ain striker Asamoah Gyan finshed fourth behind Yaya Toure, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Vincent Enyeama, according to the voting pattern for the 2014 African Footballer of the Year.

The voting pattern shows that Toure got 175 points while 120 went to Aubameyang and Enyeama got 105. Asamoah Gyan and Nigerian winger, Ahmed Musa, who made the top-five got 94 and 78 points respectively from the coaches and technical directors who voted.

Out of the 39 head coaches or technical directors who voted, 27 picked the Yaya Toure as the African Footballer of the Year. Only Botswana, Burundi, Nigeria and Zambia did not vote Toure as a top-two candidate for the African Footballer of the Year.

Gabonese striker Pierrre-Emerick Aubameyang who finished second, had just two coaches/technical directors from his country, Gabon and Botswana giving him full marks.

Ghana’s captain Asamoah Gyan, who finished in fourth got the backing of four coaches or technical directors from Ghana, Zambia, Sao Tome and Principe as well as Togo.

The race for the 2015 African Footballer of the Year had begun and the Africa Cup of Nations is one of the place to start off.

For more sports news visit

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.