Undisputed: Yaya Toure rules Africa for a 4th time

Ivory Coast’s Yaya Toure made history on Thursday Night by becoming the first player to win Africa’s top individual prize four times on the trot.

The Manchester City midfielder was crowned Africa’s best once again in a ceremony that was held in Nigeria.

In the process, Toure equalled Samuel Eto’o’s record of winning the CAF player of the year award 4 times.

Other notable winners on the night were Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala who was voted the female footballer of the year and Algeria who were awarded the Team of the Year prize.

The list of winners in full can be seen below:
List of winners
African Player of the Year: Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa: Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Most promising talent: Yacine Brahimi (Algeria)
Women’s player of the year:  Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Youth player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Coach of the Year: Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)
National team of the Year:  Algeria
Women’s National team of the Year: Nigeria
Club of the Year: ES Setif (Algeria)
Referee of the Year:  Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)
Football Leader of the Year:  Moise Katumbi Chapwe, President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

African Legend award: Oryx Club (Cameroon), winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964

Platinium award: Nigeria President Goodluck Jonathan

For more sports news visit allSports.com.gh

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.