Today in history: Kuffour named BBC African Player of the Year

On 4th January, 2001, Ghana’s Samuel Kuffour was named BBC African Player of the Year. He beat Sierra Leone’s Mohammed Kallon and Senegal’s El Hadj Diouf to the title.

Thousands of fans took part in the online poll, with Kuffour gaining 55% of the votes cast.

How they finished
1 – Samuel Kuffour (Ghana)
2 – Mohammed Kallon (Sierra Leone)
3 – Al Hadj Diouf (Senegal)
Kuffour, who was playing for Bayern Munich at the time told the BBC he was delighted with the award.

“Today is the fourth, I am the fourth born in my family, and I always wear shirt number four!”, he said.

He was the favourite to win the award after having contributed massively to the successs story of the Bavarian giant in the year 2001.

Kuffour was a key part of the Bayern Munich team that won the European Cup in May 2001 and which landed the Bundesliga title. He also scored the only goal in the World Club Cup Final against Argentina’s Boca Juniors.

Former winners of the BBC African Footballer of the year

Year         Winner                      Club
1991 Abédi Pelé                Marseille
1994 Zambia
1995 George Weah                 Milan
1996 Emmanuel Amuneke    Sporting CP / Spain Barcelona

1997 Nwankwo Kanu           Internazionale
1999 Nwankwo Kanu           Arsenal
2000     Patrick Mboma           Cagliari /Parma
2001 Samuel Kuffour          Bayern Munich
2002 El Hadji Diouf          Lens /  Liverpool
2003 Jay-Jay Okocha          Bolton Wanderers
2004 Jay-Jay Okocha          Bolton Wanderers
2005 Mohamed Barakat Al-Ahly
2006 Michael Essien           Chelsea
2007 Emmanuel Adebayor    Arsenal
2008 Mohamed Aboutrika     Al-Ahly
2009 Didier Drogba            Chelsea
2010 Asamoah Gyan           Sunderland
2011 André Ayew           Marseille
2012 Christopher Katongo      Henan Construction
2013 Yaya Touré           Manchester City
2014 Yacine Brahimi          Granada CF / FC Porto

For more sports news visit

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.