Osafo Marfo: Alan K et al must step down for Akufo-Addo

Former Finance Minister in the John Kufuor administration, Yaw Osafo Marfo, has added his voice to appeals for Akufo-Addo to stand unopposed in the NPP flagbearer race.

According to him, the winner of October 18 National Delegates’ Conference to select a Presidential Candidate in the 2016 general elections is no secret – indicating Nana Akufo-Addo, who polled more than 80% of votes during the Special Delegates’ Conference will win.

The Special Delegates’ Conference reduced to five the seven flagbearer aspirants of the party.

They are Nana Akufo-Addo, Alan Kyerematen, Francis Addai Nimoh, Joe Ghartey and Osei Ameyaw.

However, Joe Ghartey, a former Attorney General has voluntarily opted out of the race.

Osafo Marfo is therefore, appealing to the remaining three contestants “to voluntarily step down and prevent the election on the 18th of October because the endorsement is clear.”

Following the huge votes secured by Akufo-Addo at the Special Delegates Congress on August 31, the party leadership has been inundated with calls for the October 18 congress to be called off.

According to some party members and other political commentators, the October 18 congress is needless since the outcome of the super delegates’ congress revealed which person is likely to lead the party.

Francis Addai Nimoh after about two weeks of “consultation” has decided to contest in the October 18 congress despite the calls on him to back down.

The two others; Alan Kyeremanten, and Osei Ameyaw have also given indications they will contest.

But Osafo Marfo believes voluntarily opting out of the race will unify the party by putting an end to all internal bickering.

He dismissed claims that the choice of the 740 delegates who voted in the Super Delegates congress does not reflect the true situation on the ground.

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.