Four Multimedia Group journalists win GJA Awards

Joy FM’s Manasseh Azure Awine, Seth Kwame Boateng and Beatrice Adu have won awards at 19 th the Ghana Journalists Association Awards night, Saturday night.

The ‘Hotline’ documentary series aired on Joy FM Thursdays, was also honoured at the Awards night which was graced by the Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, Dr. Sam Jonah, a former member of the Council of State and past GJA president Gifty Afenyi-Dadzie and the Minister of Communications Dr. Omane Boamah, who represented President John Dramani Mahama.

Manasseh’s anticorruption campaign at the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital won him the Best Award in Anti-corruption. Similar campaigns by Manasseh have led to ongoing reforms in the Ghana Youth and Employment and Entrepreneurial Development Authority (GYEEDA) and the Savannah Accelerated Development Authority (SADA),

Seth Kwame Boateng on the other hand won the Best Radio Feature Award while Beatrice Adu was adjudged the best in Health Reporting.

Manasseh and Seth also won a joint Award as Best Journaists in News Reporting on Radio. Multi TVs Gifty Andoh Appiah also took home an award.

Daily Graphic reporter, Mabel Aku Baneseh was crowned the Journalist of the Year 2014. Shed also won two awards in Crime/Court Reporting and Political Reporting.

Mabel acknowledged her husband for the support while dedicating her award to her editor, Ransford Tetteh.

The Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist of the Year Award was picked by Maxwell Akalaral Adambilla also of the Daily Graphic.

The Award is named after late former BBC journalist and former host of the Super Morning Show on Joy FM.

Other winners on the night were:
Photojournalism Electronics
Mark Sasu – GTV
Photojournalism Print
Samuel Tei Adanu – Daily Guide
TV feature
Narkwor Kwabla (TV3)
News Reporting (TV)
Asante Fordwor – TV3
News Reporting Print
Dzifa Emma Tetteh – Ghanaian Times
Electronic Reporting disability
Kwetey Nartey – TV Africa
Reporting Disability (Print)
Jamina Okaretsire
Science Reporting
Rachel Quartey – GTV
Agric reporting
Soyoko Kyere – GTV
Feature (Print)
Maxwell Adombilla – Daily Graphic
Business Finance and Economics
Kwetey Nartey – TV Africa
Human Rights
Nelson Adanutey – Diamond FM
Investigative journalism
Kwetey Nartey – TV Africa
Seth Dogbey, Kwesi Amprah Twum – Daily Graphic
Moses Aklorbotu – Daily Graphic
Education Reporting (Electronic)
Isabella Owusu Oppong – GTV
Education Reporting (Print)
Kofi Yeboah – Daily Graphic
Rural Reporting
Seth Otoo
Online Journalism
Nana Boakye-Yiadom – Citi FM
Arts and Entertainment
Rebecca Armah – GTV
Water Reporting
Kofi Yeboah
HIV/AIDS reporting
Kwetey Nartey – TV Africa
Crime/Court Reporting
Mabel Aku Baneseh – Graphic
Sports Reporting
John Vigah – Ghanaian Times
Political Reporting
Mabel Aku Baneseh – Graphic
Oil and Gas
Maxwell Akalaral – Graphic
  Story by Ghana | | Jerry Tsatro Mordy | [email protected]

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.