Thirty-eight file to contest positions in Odododiodoo NDC



Accra, Aug. 19, GNA – Thirty-eight people filed to contest executive positions in the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Odododiodoo constituency at the close of nominations.

Mr Daniel Nii Okai, the Chairman, Mr Paul Oblie Laryea and Mr Space Clottey will be vying for the position of Chairman and Rev Robert Esmon Otorjor and Mr Walterman Oko Rieley will be contesting for the position of Vice Chairman.

The Secretary, Mr Joseph Otoo is being challenged by Mr Kotei Ashie in a restage of the last constituency congress, and the Organizer, Mr Samuel Armah and Mr Oko Baddo will be contesting for the position.

For the position of Deputy Organiser, Mr Robert Tesei, the incumbent is being challenged by Alhaji Ahmed Boye with Hajia Ayishetu Yahaya challenging the Women’s Organiser, Miss Mavis Manugbor.

The Youth Organiser, Mr Elvis Codjoe will be contesting with Alhaji Korley Lassey and Mr Isaac Quaye for the position.

Alhaji Ahmed Boateng will be the Treasurer since no other person put in a bid for the position with the Propaganda Secretary, Mr Addo Quaynor, being challenged by Mr Samuel Acolatse.

Speaking to the Ghana News Agency, Mr Okai said he became Chairman in 2001 when the NDC was in opposition but under his guidance the party regained the constituency in the 2004 elections and retained it in 2005 in a by-election following the demise of the sitting MP, Mr Ayikwei Mankattah.

The party retained the seat again in the 2008 and 2012 general elections making it a safe seat for the NDC.

The aspirants will be vetted before the elections which will be conducted later in the year.


This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.