7 Aspirants Vetted

THE VETTING Committee of the new Patriotic Party (NPP) completed the vetting of all seven presidential hopefuls yesterday.

This was after three more personsSecond Deputy Speaker and member of Parliament (MP) for Essikado Ketan Joe ghartey, former mP for mfantseman West Stephen Asamoah-Boateng, and mP for Asuogyaman Kofi osei Ameyawhad appeared before them yesterday.

By 9:30am, the Committee had started sitting, and first on the bill was Kofi osei Ameyaw. He was followed by Joe Ghartey and Stephen Asamoah Boateng. each of the three aspirants who appeared yesterday spent not less than an hour and half before the members of the Committee. By 4:00pm, the Committee had completed the vetting process.

on Thursday July 24, aspiring flagbearers of the NPPAlan Kwadwo Kyerematen, Francis Addai nimoh, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku and nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addowere vetted.

The Committee is expected to send a report to the national executive Committee (neC) and the national Council of the party.

The nine-member committee is chaired by Ama Busia, a former member of the Council of State, with Professor Aaron mike oquaye, Kwadwo okyere mpiani, most rev. Dr. Samuel Asante-Antwi, C.K Tedam, Peter mac manu, madam Christine Churcher, Joseph Boahen Aidoo and Ambassador Kwabena mensah Bonsu as members.

It is unclear whether all seven aspirants would be cleared to contest the upcoming Special Congress to cut down the number of aspirants to five as prescribed by the party’s constitution.

Coming Events
Leadership of the party has also decided to organize an open forum for people to challenge any of the aspirants on monday August 4, 2014. It would be followed by a compilation of the delegates register from the polling stations to national level from August 11-16, 2014.

All seven aspirants would ballot for positions on the ballot paper, leading to the special conference to shortlist five candidates on Sunday August 31, 2014.

After that event, the party would go to congress on Saturday october 18, 2014 to elect a flagbearer who would lead the nPP in the crucial 2016 general elections.

The fate of all seven aspirants would first be decided by 826 party faithful, who make up the Special electoral College.

The Special electoral College is made up of 123 members of Parliament (mPs), 55 members of the national Council, 10 members of the national executive Committee, 44 members of the national Council of elders, 435 members of the regional executive Committee, nine members of Special organs of the nPP, 48 members of the external Branches, 27 past national officials and 75 Founding members.

Each of them would be entitled to one vote.
By Charles Takyi-Boadu

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.