Alan Picks Forms

Alan Kyerematen addressing the media after picking the forms yesterday

Presidential hopeful, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, yesterday picked nomination forms to contest for the flagbearership race of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

He is the seventh aspirant to pick the forms after other leading members of the party, including his main contender and two-times standard bearer, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, had gone for theirs.

The rest are former Information Minister, Stephen Asamoah-Boateng; the Member of Parliament (MP) for Asuogyaman, Kofi Osei-Ameyaw; Mampong MP, Francis Addai Nimoh; former Offinso North MP, Kofi Konadu Apraku and MP for Esikado-Ketan, Joe Ghartey.

A handful of supporters were around to give Mr. Kyerematen, also known as Alan Cash, moral support on arrival at the NPP Asylum Down head office in Accra.

After exchanging pleasantries with his supporters and some staff at the headquarters, he proceeded to issue a cheque of GH¢10,000 before he was issued with the nomination forms.

He was received by the 2 nd National Vice Chairman of the party, Sammy Crabbe, together with his colleagues – National Treasurer and the Nasara Coordinator, Kwabena Abankwah-Yeboah and Kamal Deen respectively.

Alan Cash indicated his preparedness to lead the NPP to victory in the 2016 general elections.

He assured the leadership and members of the party of his preparedness to work closely with all of them to ensure that the party is strengthened at the grassroots for effective campaign towards the elections.

‘I have had the privilege and honour to serve our great partyif it’s God’s will that I become the next flagbearer, I will work with you to build a strong, united, stable, financially viable and stable party’, he told party faithful.

For him, one of the critical things the NPP as a party needed to do to win power in 2016 was to empower the Polling Station Executives with the required logistics, which he promised to deliver when elected the flagbearer.

Key among those who accompanied him to pick the forms were former General Secretary of the party under whose watch the NPP lost power to the NDC, Nana Ohene-Ntow and other senior members of his campaign team: the immediate past Eastern Regional Chairman, Dr. Samuel Annor; John Dougha and his colleagues Osei Bonsu Patak and Yaw Ntow Ababio.

It is yet unknown whether stalwarts of the party such as the MP for Subin, Isaac Osei; MP for Nhyiaeso, Dr Richard Anane and heart surgeon, Professor Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng, who have at certain times expressed interest in the race, would still keep to their guns or would back down.

 By Charles Takyi-Boadu

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.