NPP To Have Mini-Election As 7 Aspirants Pick Forms

It is now looking likely that the New Patriotic Party (NPP) will have a selected mini-election before the main one by December 6, 2014.

The revised NPP constitution, in an attempt to prevent as many as 17 aspirants contesting the presidential elections (as in 2007), if the list of aspirants exceeds five, the NPP will have a mini-election to elect top five aspirants. These top five will then be presented to the general electoral college of 1450,000, where voting will take place in all the 10 regions.

As at press time yesterday, five aspirants had paid GHC10,000 each and collected nomination forms. They are Dr. Kofi Apraku, Mr. Osei Ameyaw, Mr. Asamoah Boateng, Nana Akufo-Addo and Mr. Joe Ghartey.

Sources close to the NPP National Headquarters have hinted that representatives of two other aspirants – Mr. Addi-Nimoh and Dr. Richard Anane, have indicated their wish to pick forms yesterday.

Of the list of names which had been circulating, only Mr. Alan K. Kyerematen and Prof. Frimpong Boateng have not indicated when they would pick forms.