Setting the records straight: Controversies over past FA winners

Several media houses in the lead up to the 2013 MTN FA Cup final between Asante Kotoko and Inter Allies credited the Porcupine Warriors with 8 FA Cup titles and Kotoko’s titles per that will be 9 after beating the Tema based club.

However the Porcupine Warriors’ victory over Inter Allies on Sunday in the FA Cup final rather makes their total FA Cup titles 8 instead of 9 as widely reported

Although the truth is always bitter, it must be said. As a ‘continental (Unity Hall alumnus)’ I like the Slogan of my sister hall Commonwealth, which goes the ‘Truth stands.’.

The reason for these erroneous reports is that although Kotoko won the 1990 FA Cup by beating Heats of Oak in the final, they were declared losers for using an unqualified player (Joe Debrah).

On Sunday 5th August, 1990, Kumasi Asante Kotoko beat Accra Hearts of Oak 4-2. Kotoko’s goals were scored by Isaac Kwakye, Joe Debrah 2 goals and Robert Eshun while Hearts of Oak’s goals were scored by Yaw Preko and Ablade Kumah.

The following day, which was 6th August, 1990 Hearts of Oak lodged a protest with the GFA that Joe Debrah who played a key role in Kotoko’s victory was unqualified because he had yellow cards in OGLCA Cup, League and F.A Cup.

The Disciplinary Committee, after sitting on the case declared Kotoko losers on 28th October, 1990 and a subsequent appeal by Kotoko was quashed by the Appeals Committee.

As a result of this it makes Hearts of Oak the 1990 F.A Cup winners instead of Kotoko.

This brings the total haul of Asante Kotoko’s titles in the FA Cup competition to 7 instead of 8 and 10 for Hearts instead of 9.

Kotoko are not the only club to be stripped of a title in world football. Juventus were stripped of the 2005/06 Serie-A title after the Calciopoli scandal in Italy, instead Inter Milan – the original runner’s-up were rather crowned champions for that season.

This is not the first time I have revealed this piece. On 7th August, 2012, I made a similar revelation after New Edubiase fc won the 34th edition of the FA Cup, but it appears for whatever reason people have not taken notice and once again in June 2013 I came out with a similar piece after Medeama sc won the 35th edition of the FA Cup.

For the growth of our beloved Association football, i wish this revelation and many others i have made in the past, will be taken a lot more serious than they have been in the past.

Below is the list of the accurate winners of the FA cup

Number of Titles Clubs
10 Hearts of Oak (Accra)
8 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
4 Real Republicans (Accra) (1 shared)
3 Great Olympics (Accra)
2 Cornerstones (Kumasi) (1 shared)
1 Eleven Wise (Sekondi)
1 Mysterious Dwarfs (Cape Coast)
1 Okwahu United (Nkawkaw)
1 Ghapoha (Tema)
1 Goldfields (Obuasi)
1 Hasaacas (Sekondi)
1 Voradep (Ho)
1 Nania Fc
1 New Edubiase
1 Medeama sc
By Thomas Freeman Yeboah, of the GFA Research and Information management Committee

For more sports news visit

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.