Henrik Lundqvist bemoans obstruction decision

Dwight King found the net two minutes into the third period in the second match of the Stanley Cup final, which the Kings eventually came from behind to win 5-4 in double overtime.

The left wing’s deflected goal proved to be a turning point, but Lundvqist expressed his dismay after appearing to be severely obstructed by King.

“I’m extremely disappointed on that call or non-call,” he said. “They (have) got to be consistent with that rule.

“They score a goal and I can’t even move. It’s extremely frustrating for them to get life like that.

“It’s a different game after that. It’s such an important play in the game.”

The result sees Rangers 2-0 down heading into game three, but Lundvqist still believes his side can claw back the defiicit.

“You don’t have a choice, you have to move on,” he added. “We go home now and you try to stay positive, believing in what we do in here.

“We did a lot of good things out there. It’s come down to a couple plays that so far they’re taking advantage of, a couple mistakes (in) the first two games.”

King defended himself by insisting: “We were just battling for position. I was fortunate enough for it to hit me, I guess.”

For more sports news visit allSports.com.gh

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.