Coach Appiah Is SWAG Best

By Kofi Owusu Aduonum

By Kofi Owusu Aduonum

Coach Appiah (4th left) receiving his award from Deputy Sports Minister, Joseph Yammin

Ghana coach Kwasi Appiah last Saturday picked the flagship prize at the 39th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards at the Banquet Hall of the State House in Accra.

The Black Stars trainer, who beat his captain Asamoah Gyan and weightlifter Juliana Arkoh to the ultimate award, extended his dominance to the coach of the year category.

Coach Appiah’s feat was in recognition of his achievement as the first Ghanaian coach to qualify the Black Stars to the World Cup.

Gyan, however, crowned his resplendent year by picking the footballer of the year award, piping compatriots Kwadwo Asamoah and Sulley Muntari.

Asante Kotoko’s central defender Abeiku Ainooson and Black Maiden’s Jane Ayiyem shared honours in the male and female local footballer of the year awards respectively.

The Awards organizers named World Boxing Council (WBC) Welterweight International Champion, Patrick Allotey as boxer of the year with Samuel Anim winning the cyclist of the year award.

It was Ben Nunoo-Mensah (weightlifting) who won the Association Chairman of the year, with Clifford Aboagye of Black Satellites winning the Discovery of the year award.

Elizabeth Opoku of Black Sticks Ladies was adjudged the female hockey player of the year, while Elikem Akaba picked the award for the male category.

Satellites’ Ebenezer Assifuah was named the Promising Star of the year while Hasaacas Ladies were named female club of the year. Black Satellites was adjudged the national team of the year.

Badminton Player of the year went to Abraham Ayittey, while Juliana Arkoh took home the weightlifter of year award. Tesano Dolphins’ Ophelia Swayne emerged the swimmer of the year.

Top seed Derek Abrefa and Linda Annor received the male and female table tennis players of the year prizes respectively, as J.F. Mensah received the dedication and Valour prize.

Cudjoe Fianoo, Nestor Ghalley, Shaban Mohammed, Kwesi Nyantakyi, Kennedy Agyapong and Nuru Bremansu received Special Prizes.

Guinness Ghana Brewery Limited, Ghana National Petroleum Company, TT Brothers, CAL Bank and First Capital Plus Bank were also recognized for their sponsorship in sporting activities.

By Kofi Owusu Aduonum


This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.