KNUST honours 12 security officers

Twelve security officers of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) and four security commands of the Ghana Police Service have been honoured by the university for their role in promoting security at the university and its environs at a ceremony at the KNUST in Kumasi.

The four security commands are the KNUST Police Command, the Manhyia Divisional Command, the Bureau of National Investigations (BNI) and the Ashanti Regional Police Command.

The security officers include Mr Adam Bawarbe Zizien, Mr Samuel Forson, Mr Kofi Darko, Mr Augustus Asafo Adjei, Mr Davidson Owusu and Mr Samuel Moses Tei Amanor.

The rest are Mr Edward Okyere Senyah, Mr Samuel Ofori Adjei, Mr Charles K. Amoah, Mr Kwaku Sarpong, Ms Helina Kuasi and Ms Comfort Duah.

At the ceremony, Prof. W. O. Ellis, the Vice-Chancellor of KNUST, said the honour was in recognition of the hard work and dedicated services of the security officers and state security agencies which had, over the years, collaborated with the university in the provision and maintenance of security on the campus.          

He said it had always been the desire of the management of the university to maintain the needed atmosphere conducive for academic pursuit at the university, saying that in that regard and in tandem with the mission of the university, the management had taken matters of security with all the seriousness they deserved.     

Prof. Ellis said the university appreciated the level of sacrifice its security staff made, sometimes at the cost of their lives, in the attempt to maintain a conducive atmosphere on the campus, hence the institution of the annual awards in 2011.

He cautioned the few officers who occasionally brought the name of the KNUST security service and that of the university into disrepute through their unprofessional conduct.

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.