Kufuor faction to break away from NPP if…

The National Chairman of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. Paul Afoko, has dropped a hint of the possibility of the party presenting only one presidential candidate at a congress later this year.

He said this in an interview with TV3.
However, in a sharp response, a leading member of the former President John Agyekum Kufuor faction of the NPP has warmed his side may breakaway.

“We will break away and win 70 of the NPP’s current 123 seats in parliament,” he threatened.

The Informer newspaper claims to have information on a secret meeting held at Airport Residential area in Accra by the Kufuor-led faction.

Below is the report on the TV 3 website that earned the displeasure of a faction within the NPP:

NPP may present unopposed candidate for primary – Afoko

National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Paul Afoko says there is the possibility of the party going to a presidential primary by the end of this year with only one candidate.

Mr. Afoko stated, however, that, as a democratic party full of free-thinkers, NPP will allow the tenets of democracy to inform every decision it takes ahead of the 2016 general elections.

Mr. Afoko, who was elected chairman of the party on April 12, made this known on TV3’s News @ 10 on Wednesday, April 23.

He disclosed that the new executives will go by any decision that reflects the demands and needs of the party’s wide support-base.

But that would go with the party’s constitution, he indicated.

He said though one or two names have come up for the flagbearership race of the party, the constitution will be strictly followed in selecting one for the party.

If it demands that, he says, we go with one person unopposed, so be it.

Mr. Afoko was, however, certain that the party will win power in 2016 and so, he and his new executives are putting every measure in place for the NPP to take over from the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Party members who have shown interest in aspiring for the presidency on its ticket in the 2016 elections include Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, Professor Kwabena Frimpong Boateng, Stephen Asamoah Boateng, Kofi Osei Ameyaw, Joe Ghartey and Francis Addai Nimoh.

By the party’s constitution, if more than five persons file to stand for the race, a special congress will be held to prune the number down to five.

The presidential congress will be held by December this year.

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.