Ousted NPP executives hands over to new officers today

Old national executives of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) will today formally render account and hand over to newly elected officers to pave way for the new officers to take over the reins of the party.

Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey and Kwadwo Owusu-Afriyie, former party Chairman and General Secretary respectively and other executives lost their re-election bid at the party’s conference in Tamale on April 12, 2014.

Mr Paul Afoko beat Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey while Kwabena Agyapong defeated Kwadkwo Owusu-Afriyie at the delegates’ conference.

At his first news conference since his electoral victory, new Chairman Paul Afoko, said the handing over processes will begin Wednesday to make way for a comprehensive restructuring of the party.

“We have got to position the party properly and strategically. There are so many steps we have to take…once we take control, in terms of the physical hand over then we can begin the process of restructuring”, Mr Afoko said.

Mr Afoko said these at a press conference in Accra on Tuesday.

The new NPP Chairman’s message during campaign for the slot was “new plan for power — a desire to re­brand, restructure, and to recapture power.”

Mr Afoko polled 2,034 out of the 5,400 votes cast at the NPP’s 16th Ex­traordinary Delegates’ Conference.

His closest rival was Steven Ntim, who polled 1503, followed by former First Vice-Chairman, Fred Oware, who polled 1,135.

Incumbent National Chairman Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey polled 66. 

Mr John Boadu also ousted Moctar Bamba for the National Organizer position.

The rest of the new national executive who will formally take over the party today are:

Freddie Blay — 1st National Vice-Chairman
Sammy Crabbe – 2nd National Vice-Chairman
F.F Antoh – 3rd National Vice-Chairman
Otiko Djaba – National Women’s Organiser
Sammy Awuku – National Youth Organiser
Kwabena Abankwa Yeboah – National Treasurer.

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.