Provisional: Afoko wallops Obetsebi-Lamptey to claim NPP chair can provisionally declare that Paul Afoko has been elected new Chairman of the opposition New Patriotic Party.

What was expected to be a hotly contested chairmanship race turned a walkover for Afoko who polled 2032 votes to beat his closest challenger, Stephen Ntim who polled 1,500 votes. Shockingly, the incumbent chairman Jake Obetsebi Lamptey could only manage 65. Eventhough the results for Fred Oware are yet to trickle in, it will be mathematically difficult for Oware to overtake Afoko.

Paul Afoko has already changed into a white garment and has gotten into a state of jubilation. It must be said however that the figures are only provisional. The EC will make its own official declaration.

After almost nine hours of a rather slow voting and counting process, Kwabena Agyapong also beat his closest contender and incumbent Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie popularly known as Sir John.

In an overwhelming victory, the former press secretary to president John Kufuor polled  2,529 votes to down the incumbent General Secretary who also polled 1,990.

Supporters of Otiko Djaba have begun jubilating in a close victory over Tina Mensah for the Women’s Organiser position.

Provisional figures picked up by indicate that Otiko polled 276 votes whilst Tina Mensah polled 250. Mawusi Awity came third with 113 votes.

Sammy Awuku overwhelmingly won the Youth Organiser position. Provisional results indicate he polled 471 votes beating the incumbent Emmanuel Attafuah Danso with 28 votes.

Kamal Deen Abdulai also won the National NASARA Coordinator position.

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.