Prof. Irene Agyepong chairs NHIS capitation technical committee

The 21-member  Capitation Implementation Technical Sub Committee tasked to see to the smooth nation-wide implementation of the capitation program has held its maiden meeting in Accra last Friday.

The committee made up of people from various stakeholder groups such as Ministry of Health [MoH], Ghana Health Service [GHS], Christian Health Association of Ghana [CHAG], National Health Insurance Authority [NHIA], academia, private sector, Development Partners, among others is chaired by Professor Irene Agyepong of the University of Ghana School of Public Health.

Speaking at the maiden meeting, Deputy Chief Executive in charge of Operations at the NHIA, Nathaniel Otoo, congratulated the members on their selection by the Minister of Health to serve on the committee.

According to him, the capitation model and package as introduced in the Ashanti region, underwent significant modification and review throughout the pilot stage to ensure wider stakeholder buy-in.

The Ministry of Health has selected Volta, Upper East and Upper West regions for the next phase of Capitation provider payment method roll-out.

Issued by:

Selorm Adonoo

Communications Manager

National Health Insurance Authority


Source: NHIA