NPP to elect new national executives today

Delegates of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) will today elect new national executives to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

About 5,265 delegates from across the country will be voting for their prefered candidates at the Tamale sports stadium.

The conference is going to be in two parts; the first part will see the current national chairman of the party, Jake Obetsebi Lamptey deliver a report on the state of affairs of the NPP. Also there will be a financial report delivered by the Treasurer of the party.

The delegates will then deliberate on the two reports and either adapt or reject it.

This will usher in the Electoral Commission to direct the main purpose of the day; voting to elect national officers for the party.

Positions Contested

National Chairman

  • Paul Afoko
  • Jake Obetsebi Lamptey
  • Fred Oware
  • Stephen Ntim

First and Second Vice Chairpersons

  • Freddie Blay
  • Sammy Crabbe
  • Ken Wood Nuwusu
  • Fredrick Fredua Anton
  • Philomena Serwaa Akoto
  • Shiek T.B Damba
  • Michael Omari Wadie
  • Afua Kyerewah Nyantakyi

General Secretary

  • Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie
  • Kwabena Adjei Agyapong
  • Yaw Buabeng Asamoah
  • Captain (rtd) Nkrabeah Effah Dartey

National Organiser

  • Muctar Bamba
  • John Boadu
  • Hopson Adoye

National Women’s Organiser

  • Otiko Afisa Djaba
  • Tina Mensah
  • Mawusi Awitey

National Youth Organiser

  • Sammy Awuku
  • Richard Nyama
  • Michael Kwabena Ampong
  • Gifty Oware
  • Pius Hadzie
  • Charles Adu Gyanfi
  • Emmanuel Attefuah

National Treasurer

  • Madam Esther Dzifa Ofori
  • Hajia Seida Ruka
  • Kwabena Amankwah Yeboah
  • Sussie Mensah

National NASARA Cordinator

  • Alhaji Sadat Ahmed
  • Alhaji Mohammed Ibrahim
  • Salifu Yahya
  • Mohammed Tanimu
  • Kamal Deen Abdullia
  • Mohammed Maiga
  • Baba Gado Ibrahim
  • Abubakar Sulemana-Lakulaku

 Regional Breakdown of Delegates

  • Ashanti Region – 768 delegates
  • Brong Ahafo – 480 delegates
  • Central – 384 delegates
  • Eastern – 544 delegates
  • Greater Accra – 560 delegates
  • Northern – 512 delegates
  • Upper East – 256 delegates
  • Upper West – 192 delegates
  • Volta – 432 delegates
  • Western – 432 delegates

The other category of delegates include; 76 Founding Members, 15 Council of Elders, 123 Members of Parliament, 34 National Council Members, 29 from the National Executive Committee (NEC), TESCON (118 INSTITUTIONS X 2) 236 and 192 members from oversea.

The fate of these 44 men and women vying for various national offices will be known later today.

By: Evans Effah/