Gyan’s Al Ain lose UAE title race, Al Ahli winners

Asamoah Gyan

Asamoah Gyan

Al Ahli were crowned the Arabian Gulf League champions after they scored a 2-1 win over Al Wasl on Thursday, ending the reign of Asamoah Gyan’s Al Ain with three matches to spare. 

Ahmed Khalil and Grafite scored for the winners after Ricardo De Oliveira had put Al Wasl ahead with his sixth-minute strike in the first-half of the match.

Al Ahli, who were winners of the inaugural UAE Football League season in 2009-10, collected 57 points to go 15 points clear over their nearest rivals Al Shabab with three more rounds to play.

The Red Knights are also chasing a clean sweep of all four domestic trophies this season.

They have already won the season-opening Super Cup and will figure in the Arabian Gulf Cup final on April 19 against Al Ain and the season-ending President’s Cup on May 18 against Al Jazira.

They are also involved in the AFC Champions League and will set off for a match against Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal.

For more Ghana football news visit

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.