27 member Bible Society Council inducted into office

A 27 member council of the Ghana Bible Society has been inducted into office to oversee the smooth administration of the Society for the next four years.

At a short but impressive ceremony at the South La Branch of the Apostolic Church of Ghana, Apostle JP Offei, Kaneshie Area head of the Apostolic Church impressed upon the inductees to be selfless and committed to the cause of spreading the gospel.

The new council is chaired by Mrs Efua Ghartey, lawyer and wife of the second deputy Speaker of Parliament Joe Ghartey. It also has the Most Rev. Prof. Emmanuel Asante as the President [a ceremonial role].

The Council members include; Apostle John A. Adotey, 1st Vice President, Prof Mrs Ibok N Oduro, 2nd Vice President, Mr J.N.B. Tetteh as Vice Chairman, Ms Gladys Odoi, Mr Sam Otu-Boateng, Rev CB Ahwireng, Ms Grace Abibata Mahama, Mrs Shola Safo-Duodu, Rev Kofi Otchere Rev Father Isaac Maunger, Dr Mrs Adelaide Kastener, Mrs Yvonne Ollenu, Mr Kojo Adjabeng, Mr Justice Oman.

The rest are; Rev Dr Emmanuel Anim, Mrs Felicia Gbesemete, Mrs Marilyn Owusu, Rev Isaac Boakye Yiadom, Dr Perez Sepenu, Mr Christopher Twumasi-Ankrah, Prof Mrs Akosua Anyidoho, Mrs Gloria Lamptey, Rev Dr B.Y Quarshie, Rt Rev. Titus Kofi Awotwi Pratt, Pastor Dr Chris Annang-Nunoo.

The Efua Ghartey led council takes over from the Rev Dr Harry Insaidoo led  council.

The Council members are usually nominated from their various churches and have a four year tenure.

Just like the Board of any corporate institution, the Bible Society Council has the responsibility of seeing to the smooth administration of the society.

The Bible Society of Ghana, in its 49 years of existence in Ghana has been instrumental in the spread of the gospel.

It has translated the bible into many of Ghana’s local dialects.

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.