Race For NPP Chair: Balloting Slated For March 17

Balloting for positions on voting sheets for the four National Chairman aspirants of the New Patriotic Party would take place on Monday, March 17.

According to the party’s Director of Elections, Mr Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah, the new date was arrived at after Mr Paul Afoko was cleared of a petition that challenged his candidature.

Balloting will be held at the party’s national headquarters at exactly 11:00am, he said.

The NPP on Monday, February 24 conducted balloting for positions for 39 aspirants contesting seven national executive positions within the party.

The Vetting Committee however by-passed balloting for positions of National Chairman as it was yet to complete vetting of Paul Afoko, one of the aspirants due to a pending petition.

The other aspirants are incumbent Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey, Stephen Ntim and incumbent First Vice Chairman, Fred Oware.

The party will hold its 2014 Annual Delegates Conference and National Executive Elections at the Northern Regional Capital of Tamale on April 12, 2014.