NPP Orders Fresh Elections…

The National Elections Committee of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has directed a re-run of elections held in six constituencies recently.

They include those held in Okaikoi South, Okaikoi North, Krowor, Juaben, Manhyia North and Ejisu constituencies.

A statement issued yesterday and signed by Chairman of the party’s Elections Commission, C.K Tedam said “the National Elections Committee (NEC) having heard the petitioners and respondents case has come to the conclusion that the laid down procedures and rules were not followed and as a result, people were deliberately disenfranchised in elections purported to have taken place.”

“Accordingly, the National Elections Committee (NEC) has directed that the Polling Station, Electoral Area Coordinators and Constituency elections at the following Constituencies must be re-run,” it said.

In the case of Ejisu, the statement said the album prepared by the Ashanti regional branch of the party would be used to conduct the constituency election.

The party has therefore directed that all elections be conducted in line with existing electoral guidelines.

It has however asked that “no Parliamentary Candidates or MP’s must be involved.”

Apart from that, the Committee has also issued instructions for regional Nasara elections held in Ashanti and Western regions to be re-run “to comply with the convention of only constituency Nasara Coordinators used in conducting the elections in the other eight regions.”

These elections which are expected to be organized under the supervision of National Elections Committee of the party are scheduled to be completed by March 21, 2014 with new constituency executives dully sworn in to enable them to participate in the April 12 National Delegates Conference in Tamale.