39 NPP National Aspirants Ballot For Positions

Balloting for placement for 39 aspirants of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) seeking to contest the party’s national elections took place at the party’s headquarters in Accra Monday.

The various positions being contested are the Youth Organiser, Nasara Coordinator, Organiser, Women’s Organiser, Treasurer, General Secretary and Vice Chairman. The position of the National Chairman was not balloted for because of the vetting of Mr Paul Afoko which had been put on hold.

For the General Secretary slot, incumbent Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie, alias Sir John, got the first position followed by John Nkrabeah Effah Dartey, Yaw Boabeng Asamoah and Kwabena Agyei Agyepong in that order.

For the Women’s Organiser, incumbent Mrs Otiko Afisah Djaba came first, Mawusi Nudekor Awity and Tina Gifty Mensah followed respectively.

The Treasurer position saw Mrs Susan Akosua Mansah getting the first position followed by Hajia Ahmed Sada Ruka, Mr Kwabena Abankwah-Yeboah, third and Esther Ofori, fourth.

Sammy Awuku was the first on the ballot paper for the Youth Organiser category, followed by Richard Nyamah, Emmanuel Attafuah-Danso and Gifty Afia Oware Aboagye. Others were Charles Adu; Pious Enam Hadzide and Michael Kwabena Ampong.

In the Nasara category, Alhaji Abdulai Tanimu was first, Alhaji Kamal Deen Abdulai second, Abubakar Sulemana third; Salihu Yahaya Bo fourth; Alhaji Ahmed Sadat Awudu, fifth; Haruna Mohammed Maiga sixth; Alhaji Aminu Ibrahim seventh; and Alhaji Baba Gado Ibrahim eighth.

In the Organiser category, Hopeson Adorye emerged first, on the ballot, Alhaji Moctar Bamba second and John Boadu, third.

Phelomena Serwaa Akoto Sam was first in the vice-chairmanship category, followed by Ferederick Fredua Antoh, Sammy Crabbe was third, Mogtari Sahanu fourth; Sheikh T B Damba fifth; Michael Owari Wadie sixth; Keenwuud Nuworsu seventh; Fred Amankwah Sarfo eighth; Freddie Blay ninth, Hajia Fati Amadu 10th and Afua Kyerewah Nyantekyi, 11th.

According to Mr Martin Adjei -Mensah Korsah, Director of Elections for NPP, the balloting came off well and that the balloting for the National Chairmanship position would take place as soon as a decision had been taken on the vetting of Mr Afoko by the National Vetting Committee.