NPP Raps Nyaho

Dr. Nyaho Nyaho-Tamakloe
The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has responded to the recent outburst of Dr. Nyaho Nyaho-Tamakloe, a party stalwart, describing his claims as flawed.

This was after he had questioned the composition of the party’s national vetting committee.

A statement issued by Acting Director of Communication of the party, Perry Curtis Okudzeto, pointed out that ‘the premise on which Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe makes the assertion is flawed’ and that ‘it exposes his ignorance of the party’s constitution and its provisions.’

The Acting Communication Director noted that Article 9 (B) of the party’s constitution on national organisation, addresses the issues raised by Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe.

The Vetting Committee is therefore said to consist of the five Chairpersons of the Standing Committee of the National Council, the Chairperson of the National Council of Elders and three other persons appointed by the National Council, one of whom shall be designated chairperson of the Vetting Committee, provided however, that the National Council shall ensure that at least two out of the nine persons are women.

Mr. Okudzeto explained that as it stands, the Vetting Committee is made up of the current Chairpersons of the various standing committees appointed four years ago and have been in office since, and therefore noted with emphasis that ‘the impression being created that this was a new committee just for the purpose of the 2014 National Executives Election, and tribal underpinnings that have been cited, is mind boggling.’

Members of the Committee are said to include C.K. Tedam – Chairman National Council of Elders; Most Rev. Dr. Asante Antwi – Disciplinary Committee; Dr. Adjei Bawuah – Organisation Committee; Brigadier Joseph Odei (Rtd) – Research Committee; Kwabena Sarpong – Finance Committee; Nii Ayikoi Otoo – Constitutional Committee and Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah – Director of Elections, who doubles as Secretary to the Committee.

Others, the statement disclosed, are two women representatives, Madam Cecilia Dapaah and Catherine Afeku, with the rest being co-opted heads of departments at the party headquarters.

The NPP Director of Communication further denied claims by Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe that out of the five alleged to be disqualified, three were from the North, saying, ‘there are eight candidates from the North in the contest.’

Aside that, he stated, ‘The disqualification was not based on ethnicity,’ insisting that ‘Such unguarded statements deepen the perception and rumour that engulfs the party in times like this when there is internal competition for leadership positions.’

Furthermore, he said ‘It does not auger well for the unity and cohesion of the party.’

As a leading member of the party, Mr. Okudzeto indicated ‘recent actions and pronouncements by Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe violate his duties as a member of the party, quoting Article 3 (D) of the party’s constitutions which states that a member shall: ‘protect and promote the good name of the party; protect the unity of the party; be loyal and truthful to the party and abide by, and publicly uphold, the decisions of the party.’

He therefore warned that ‘Any member who uses the media as a platform for addressing internal party issues, shall be summoned before the Disciplinary Committee.’

Past Chairpersons of the NPP and their ethnic backgrounds

are 1992: B.J. da Rocha, a Fante; 1996: Peter Ala Adjetey, a Ga; 2000: Samuel Odoi Sykes, a Ga; 2004: Harona Esseku, a Fante; 2008: Peter Mac Manu, an Ashanti

and in 2012: Jake Obetsebi Lamtey, a Ga.
Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe, who is a leading member of the NPP, ‘decides to piss in from outside.’ He has advised former President Jerry Rawlings to leave President John Mahama alone to run the affairs of state and if the former president has any advice he should give it to the President, “behind closed doors.”

A party guru, who confided in the DAILY GUIDE described this behaviour as hypocritical and paradoxical.

 By Charles Takyi-Boadu

Leave a comment. 0 comment so far.