NPP Grills Chairmen

Incumbent National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Jake Obestebi-Lamptey and his other colleague executives who are seeking re-election, will today appear before the party’s Vetting Committee to answer probing questions.

The vetting process, which is expected to begin at 9:00 am this morning, will also see incumbent General Secretary, Kwadwo Owusu-Afriyie, popularly known as Sir John, attending.

The C.K. Tedam-led Vetting Committee is expected to take these two individuals who are in-charge of the day-to-day running of the party and their fellow contestants running for the positions of National Treasurer, General Secretary, Vice Chairperson and National Chairman, through a rigorous question and answer session when they appear before it.

When the committee sat yesterday, they vetted 21 out of the 22 individuals contesting for the positions of National Youth Organiser, Nasara Coordinator, Women’s Organiser and National Organiser.

The only person who could not be vetted was one Kasim Ibrahim who was vying for the position of Nasara Coordinator.

NPP Director of Elections, Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah, who is also Secretary to the Vetting Committee, said Kasim Ibrahim did not only fail to show up for the vetting, but also failed to pay the required filing fee to enable him to contest, hence, he was automatically disqualified from the race.

Mr. Adjei-Mensah Korsah, who spoke to DAILY GUIDE after the vetting process, said members were impressed with the answers given by the aspirants who appeared before them yesterday, adding that  today’s political exercise promises to be interesting, considering the calibre of people set to appear before the committee for vetting.

Hot race
In the contest for the national chairmanship position, incumbent Jake Obestebi-Lamptey is facing stiff competition from his own First Vice Chairman, Fred Oware, who is bent on unseating him.

Other contenders for the chairmanship position are Paul Afoko and Stephen Ntim, the latter contesting for the position for the third time running, while the position of General Secretary, which is currently occupied by Sir John, is also up for grabs.

Former Presidential Spokesperson under the erstwhile Kufuor administration, Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, the former Deputy Communications Director of the NPP, Yaw Buaben Asamoa and Captain Nkrabeah Effah Dartey, are all chasing after the General Secretary’s post in a bid to topple Sir John.

Contestants for the Vice Chairmanship position are also expected to appear before the committee to be vetted.

As many as 11 persons, including former First Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Freddie Blay, are up in the game.

He is in the race against the immediate past Ashanti Regional Chairman, Fredrick Fredua Anto; Sammy Crabbe, former Greater Accra Regional Chairman of the party; Sheik T.B. Damba, Second Vice Chairman; Kenwuud Nuworsu, immediate past Volta Regional Chairman;  Michael Omari Wadie, former Ayawaso West Wuogon Chairman; Fred Amankwa Sarfo; Moctari Sahanun, a former Regional Minister; Hajia Fati Amadu, a party woman activist; Philomena Serwaa Akoto Sam and Afua Kyerewaa Nyantakyi, have also secured forms to contest for the position of Vice Chairman.

Former boss of the Ghana Trade Fair Company, Esther Ofori who is the incumbent National Treasurer of the party, is not having it easy either as she is being challenged by Kwabena Abankwa Yeboah, Suzzy Mensah, a former Deputy Eastern Regional Minister and Hajia Ahmed Sauda Ruka, for the post.

By Charles Takyi-Boadu

Leave a comment. 0 comment so far.