Ist Batch Of NPP National Aspirants Vetted

The first batch of New Patriotic Party (NPP) aspirants contesting for various national positions within the party have been vetted by a nine-member vetting committee of the party.

Twenty aspirants who filed to contest the youth organiser, NASARA Co-ordinator, women organiser and organiser positions were vetted by the committee on the first day of the exercise yesterday.

They are for the youth organiser, Messrs Sammy Awuku, Emmanuel Attafuah Danso, Michael Ampong, Charles Adu Gyamfi, Pius Hadzide and Ms Gifty Oware; National Organiser – Messrs John Boadu, Hopeson Yaovi Adorye and Alhaji Muctar Bamba.

The NASARA Co-ordinator position is being contested by Haruna Maiga, Salihu Yahaya Bo, Kamal Deen, Alhaji Sulemana Laku Laku, Alhaji Baba Ibrahim, Mohammed Amin Ibrahim and Kasim Ibrahim.

Those contesting the women organiser position are: Tina Mensah, Otiko Afisa Djaba and Mawusi Awitty.

The committee is chaired by Mr C. K. Tedam with Rev. Dr Asante Antwi, Dr Agyei Bawuah, Brig. General Joseph Odei (retd) and Mr Kwabena Sarpong as members. Others are Madam Cecelia Dapaah, Mrs Catherine Afeku, Mr Ayikoi Otoo and Mr Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah as Secretary of the committee.

Unlike the picking of nomination forms and filing of the forms which were characterised by brass band music, drumming and dancing amidst fanfare, the vetting session was a sober occasion with contestants eager and seeking to know from friends, what they would be quizzed on when they appeared before the vetting committee.

According to observers, even though past vettings had not come with any big surprises like the disqualification of contestants, this time round, nobody was leaving anything to chance as most of them were sober.

Today, those contesting for the senior positions of chairman, vice-chairman, general secretary and treasurer will be vetted.

Those slated for vetting are the aspiring chairmen; Mr Jake Obetsebi Lamptey; the incumbent, Mr Fred Oware; Mr Paul Afoko and Mr Stephen Ntim. Those for the general secretary position are: Mr Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie; Mr Yaw Buabeng Asamoah, Mr Kwabena Agyei Agyepong and Captain Nkrabea Effah Dartey (retd). The aspiring treasurers are – Kwabena Abankwa Yeboah, Esther Ofori, Suzzie Mensah and Hajia Ruka Ahmed. The vice-chairman slot has Philomena Serwah Akoto, Sammy Crabbe, Michael Omari Wadie, Sheikh T.B. Damba, Fred Amankwa Sarfo, Freddie Blay, Hajia Fati Amadu, Ken Nuworsu, F. F. Anto and Sahannu Mogtari.

According to Mr Opare Hammond, Director of Finance and Administration of the party, results of the vetting would be declared tomorrow and balloting for positions on the ballot paper done the same day.

“It has been a very smooth exercise and all the aspirants who presented themselves for vetting comported themselves very well,” Mr Hammond disclosed.

He, however, hinted that the committee was closely examining all the applications of the aspirants especially those at the senior national level, and would not hesitate to apply the rules governing the elections.”

Mr Hammond said the committee would look into areas such as being a card-bearing member with up-to-date records, contribution to the party, vision and how the aspirant would work towards electoral victory come 2016, among others.