Alan-Nana Factionalism Blows NPP Apart

Some members of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Tain Constituency of Brong-Ahafo have defected to the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) on the basis of ongoing factionalism within the party.

The over 500   members, led by the former Tain Constituency Communication Director of NPP, Charles Akowuah, disclosed that the Nana Addo-Dankwa Akufo Addo  and Alan Kyerematen factionalism   had torn the party in to shreds.  

Addressing   a news conference at Sase, Charles Akowuah said the over 500 members who have decided to defect to the NDC have been tagged as Alan Kyerematen group, and were being subjected to intimidation from some of the current executive members of the party in the constituency.

Charles Akowuah condemned those accusing them and creating enmity, saying such things would disintegrate the party if not stopped. He said the perceived factionalism in the party has come to live and it was time for the party leaders to device ways of dealing with it in a healthy way, because internal politics helps to strengthen the party.

Charles Akowuah stated that the camps have emerged because leaders of the two factions have their preferred candidates for the flagbearership position of the party.

‘It is unfortunate that the once democratic party is now practising autocratic leadership.   We have therefore declared our stand to join NDC to set our goals to build mother Ghana,’ he said

The acting youth organizer of the NDC in the Banda constituency, Harruna Mohammed Tanko welcomed the group into the NDC. He noted that the group has realized the numerous projects embarked upon by the NDC and the MP, Ahmed Ibrahim, hence their defection.

Some of the members who defected include; Adu Kwasi Isaac, Mr. Sule Yahaya, and Mr. Sampson Donkor, all former polling station executives of NPP.

However, the Brong-Ahafo Regional Executives of the NPP, led by the Regional Secretary, Alfred Ofori-Annye has initiated move to resolve the issue and get the defected members rescind their decision.

The Regional Secretary was in the company of the 2nd Vice-chairman, Robert Mensah, the Regional Treasurer, Alhaji Issaka Issah, the Regional NASARA Coordinator, Alhaji Ahmed Ibraim and the Wenchi Constituency Organizer, Karim Imoro.

According to Mr. Ofori-Annye, the team has been able to meet majority of the defected members and they have assured them of rescinding their decision, however, the leader of the group, Charles Akowuah has refused to answer the calls of any member of the team.

He said though the response from the defected members after the interaction gave a positive signal, the regional team would revisit them to finalize everything as soon as possible by the close of this week.

Leave a comment. 0 comment so far.