Iyanya’s Sexy Mama displaces Wande Coal on MTV Base official Naija top 10

By Abiodun Omigie

Iyanya. Photo: BHM

Iyanya is lounging on top of this week’s MTV Base Official Naija Top 10 powered by Star Music. 

The ’Sexy Mama’ singer and Project Fame winner displaces Wande Coal who drops one place to number 2 after two weeks atop the chart with ’The Kick’, featuring Don Jazzy and directed by Sesan.

Iyanya, recently dubbed the ‘Sexiest Man Alive’, joins VJ Ehis in the studio this week as special guest to talk about his personal success and to run through the chart.

There are two new entries on the Official Naija Top 10 this week: Burna Boy’s ‘Run My Race’ (number 9) and 2Face’s ’Rainbow’, which enters the chart at number 10 in the same week that ‘Dance Floor’ makes its exit. Also dropping out of the chart this week is WizKid’s ’Azonto’ after an impressive 9 weeks in the chart.

This week’s highest climbers are D’Banj, PSquare and Chidinma who each jump two places – D’Banj to number 7, P Square to number 4 and Chidinma to number 8 with ‘E Mi Ni Baller’.

Position Artist Song
1. Iyanya Sexy Mama
2. Wande Coal The Kick
3. D’Prince Goody Bag
4. PSquare Personally
5. Ice Prince VIP
6. Flavour Chinny Baby
7. D’banj Don’t Tell Me Nonsense
8. Chidinma E Mi Ni Baller
9. Burna Boy Run My Race
10. 2Face Rainbow

Every week, the Official Naija Top 10 is put together by an elite judging panel of Nigerian broadcasters, music specialists and tastemakers, working with MTV Base to pick the winners and losers in the week’s chart. On the panel are Onos Ovueraye (Bella Naija.com)DJ Humility (Rhythm FM), DJ Jimmy JattDJ Xclusive (Cool FM)Big Time (Rhythm FM), DJ Caise (The Beat FM), Toolz (The Beat FM) and Osagie Alonge (Nigerian Entertainment Today).

This week’s Official Naija Top 10 premiered on MTV Base on NTA on Friday 12 July, and can be seen onMTV Base (DStv Channel 322) on Tuesday 16 July @22.00 WAT, on AIT on Tuesday 16 July @ 21.30 WAT, and on STV  on Thursday 18 July @ 18.00 WAT.  Next week’s chart will be revealed on Friday 19 July on NTA@ 23.30 WAT.