Airtel Launches Season Iii Of Rising Stars Competition

Posted On Friday, 26th April 2013


Dignitaries at the launch of Season III of the Airtel Rising Stars including ex Ghana internationals; Sammy Kuffour and Nii Odartey-Lamptey alongside Arsenal legend Tony Adams

By Ameenu Shardow

Season III of the Airtel Rising Stars competition will kick off on May 31st following the official launch of the juvenile contest on Friday.

This year’s competition will run in two sectors; the Northern and Southern sector with the national finals taking place on July 10.

Winners of both the U17 male and female division will then take part in an Inter-country contest to be held in Lagos, Nigeria from 2-8th July.

The three-year-old competition aims at producing even more talents this term.

“For us at Airtel, sports and education are bed-fellows and that is why we insist that all participants in the tournament are from the schools,” Managing Director of Airtel Ghana Philip Sowah said at the media launch at the Media Center of the Accra Sports Stadium.

“The story of Priscilla Otchere (ex Ghana U17 girls team captain) is well known, but more importantly we hope to produce this year more of Sammy Kuffours and Odartey Lamptey as well as Tony Adams.”

Arsenal legend Tony Adams who joined hands with Airtel ambassadors and former Ghana internationals; Sammy Kuffour and Nii Odartey Lamptey endorsed the effect the competition is having especially within the juvenile ranks of Ghana football.

“Airtel Rising Stars willhelp knick the talents from the woods and bring them to the fore,” he said at the launch.

“I profited from such youth development at Arsenal and I am happy this concept is being replicated here in Ghana.”

The Airtel Rising Stars tournament has unearthed several talents to feed the various juvenile national teams.

Notable of them is Priscilla Otchere who captained the national female U17 side to win bronze at the World Cup in 2011.

The competition enjoys technical support from the Ghana FA and is also in conjunction with the Ministries of Youth and Sports and Education.