FG approves N5.7bn for 2011 post election violence victims

Ben Agande, Abuja.
The Federal Government,  Thursday,  announced the approval for the release of the sum of N5,747,694,780.00 to nine states of the federation for direct disbursement to those who suffered losses of properties, means of livelihood and places of worship in the post election violence of 2011.

Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Dr Reuben Abati who announced this Thursday said government’s decision was to assist those who suffered loses during the crisis as recommended by the Sheikh Ahmed Lemu panel that was set up after the crisis.

File photo: Protesters during the post-election riots in Kaduna

File photo: Protesters during the post-election riots in Kaduna

The states to benefit from the money, according to Dr Abati,are, Bauchi, Sokoto, Zamfara, Niger, Jigawa, Kastina, Kano, Adamawa and Akwa-Ibom.

Dr Abati explained that the interest of those who died in the course of the crisis would be accommodated by the federal government.

It will be recalled that following the post election violence and civil disturbances in some states after the April 2011 elections President Jonathan set up a Panel of Enquiry headed by Sheik Ahmed Lemu to among other things, identify the spread and extent of losses suffered across the country.

The committed submitted its report whose recommendation was adopted by the Federal Executive council which directed the Federal Ministry of Lands and Housing was mandated to assess the reported losses and damage to properties in all affected states.

The Special Adviser to the president noted that based on the Ministry’s report, “President Jonathan has approved the release of funds to nine of the 14 affected states as follows: Bauchi;  N1,574,879,000.00; Sokoto, N55,888,506.00;  Zamfara,  N93,253,485.00; Niger, N433,375,875.00; and   Jigawa, N208,667,634.00.

Others include: Katsina ,  N1,973,209,440.00; Kano, N944,827,000.00;  Adamawa, N420,089,840.00 and Akwa Ibom N43,504,000.00.

The presidential spokesman explained that” Inspection and assessment of damages and losses suffered are yet to be carried out in Borno, Yobe, Gombe, Kaduna and Nasarawa states as modalities and further instructions for the exercise are still being expected from the state governments.

“Funds to cover the losses sustained by victims of the post election violence in these five states will be approved and released at the conclusion of the assessment exercise” he said.

Dr Abati said the President directed that the executive governors or deputy governors of the respective beneficiary states would chair the Implementation Committee for the disbursement of the funds to beneficiaries, while representatives of the state government, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, federal Ministry of Land, Housing and Urban Development are members. The Secretary of the Sheik Lemu Panel would serve as secretary of the implementation committee.

Comments are moderated. Please keep them clean and brief.