Sellas Tetteh Names 15 Foreign-based In Preliminary Ghana U20 Squad

Posted On Wednesday, 24th April 2013

Richmond Boakye-Yiadom has been named in Ghana's squad for FIFA U20 World Cup.

Richmond Boakye-Yiadom has been named in Ghana’s squad for FIFA U20 World Cup.

Ghana U20 coach Sellas Tetteh has named 15 foreign-based players in a preliminary 41-man squad for the 2013 FIFA U20 World Cup.

The Europe-based youngsters are expected to justify their inclusions next month when the leagues are on break.

But a list of 26 home-based players dominated by those who featured at this year’s African Junior Championship will begin training next Monday in Accra.

The foreign legion includes promising prospects like Sassuolo’s Richmond Boakye-Yiadom who was a member of Ghana’s squad at the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations.

Anderlecht’s Frank Acheampong, who has made one appearance for the senior national team, has been named in the squad and Zak Ansah of Arsenal.

Greuther Furth’s Baba Abdul Rahman and Daniel Amartey of Swedish side Djurgarden IF were called up.

Tetteh wants to build a formidable squad before their Group B opener against France in Istanbul on 22 June before playing Spain three days later and against USA on 27 June.

The former Rwanda national team coach won the FIFA U20 World Cup with the 2009 Black Satellites team.

Ghana finished second at the African championship in Algeria last month losing on penalties to Egypt in the final.

Ghana squad:


Felix Annan (Kotoko) Eric Ofori Antwi (Amidaus) Michael Sai (Chelsea) Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars)


Kofi Koomson (Amidaus) Richard Nketia (Medeama) Jeremiah Arkorful and Joseph Attamah (Tema Youth) Ebenezer Ofori (New Edubiase) Lawrence Lartey (AshantiGold) Princebell Addico (Bechem)


Derrick Mensah and Moses Odjer ( Tema Youth) Seidu Salifu and Emmanuel Gyamfi (Wa All Stars) Ollenu Ashittey (Hearts of Oak) Michael Anaba and Prince Baffoe (Kotoko) Clifford Aboagye (Inter Allies) Jacob Apau and Joseph Gordon (Medeama)


Francis Narh (Tema Youth) Kennedy Ashia, Selorm Geraldo, Ebenezer Assifuah and Kwame Boahene (Liberty)

Foreign-based players:

Isaac Nana Asare and Anthony Manison (Rayo Vallecano, Spain) Zak Ansah (Arsenals, England) Moro Ibrahim (Aik, Sweden) Alfred Duncan (Inter Milan, Italy)

John Antwi (Ismaila, Egypt) Frank Acheampong (Anderlect R.C, Belgium) Daniel Amartey (Djurgården, Sweden) Arago Jamal (Atromitos, Greece)

Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Sassuolo, Italy) Lord Ofosuhene (Rio Ave, Portugal) Baba Rahman (Greuther Fürth, Germany) Carlos Ohene (Ael, Cyprus) Paul Quaye (Espanyol, Spain) Ebo Andoh (Ael, Cyprus)