Nominees for Marc-Vivien Foe award published

The nominees for this year’s Marc -Vivien Foe award have been published by French media France 24 and RFI.

The list that was published on Tuesday comprises of 11 candidates to succeed last year’s winner Younes Belhanda of Morocco.

The award was initiated in 2009 to honour the best African player in the French Ligue 1.

The award is a means to honour former Olympique Lyonnais midfielder and Cameroon international Marc Vivien Foe who collapsed and died in 2003 during the Fifa Confederations Cup semi-final between the Indomitable Lions and Colombia in Lyon, France.

2013 Nominees
Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia, Toulouse) Kossi Agassa (Togo, Stade de Reims) Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Saint-Etienne) Andre Ayew (Ghana, Olympique Marseille) Foued Kadir (Algeria, Olympique Marseille) Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia, Bastia) Saber Khelifa (Tunisia, Evian) Nicolas Nkoulou (Cameroon, Olympique Marseille) Jonathan Pitroipa (Burkina Faso, Stade Rennais) Alaixys Romao (Togo, Olympique Marseille) Alain Traore (Burkina Faso, FC Lorient)

Past Winners
2009 – Marouane Chamakh (Morocco, Bordeaux) 2010 – Gervinho (Ivory Coast, Lille) 2011 – Gervinho (Ivory Coast, Lille) 2012 – Younes Belhanda (Ivory Coast, Montpellier)