PMI Appoints Jim Askew As Chairman And Non-Executive Director

PMI Gold Corporation (TSX:PMV) (ASX:PVM) is pleased to announce the appointment of James (Jim) Askew as Chairman and Non-Executive Director.

Jim is a mining engineer with broad international experience as a Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and director for international mining, resource investment, contracting, software and mining service companies. He has had continuous involvement with the Ghanaian gold industry since 1985.

Commenting on the appointment, Interim Chair and Non-Executive Director, Ross Ashton said “Mr. Askew is a standout appointment, well respected in Australian and North American capital markets. He has been directly involved in multiple corporate successes which have required strong strategic leadership and resulted in enormous value creation.”

In addition to this appointment, PMI will nominate two new directors to the Board slate for election at the upcoming Annual General Meeting scheduled for 15 May 2013.

These are Peter Bradford, a metallurgist with some thirty years of project management experience in Africa (including eight years as President and CEO of Ghana gold producer Golden Star Resources Ltd), plus Dr. Michael Anderson, a twenty year mining industry professional and director of Taurus Funds Management Pty Ltd with broad Australian (Ex Managing Director of Exco Resources Ltd) and African mineral resource experience (Non-Executive Director Ampella Mining Ltd).

Long standing Executive Director, Mr. Thomas Ennison, barrister and solicitor of the Supreme Court of Ghana, will not be seeking re-election at the 2013 Annual General Meeting in order to pursue personal business interests. Mr. Ennison will continue as PMI’s Ghanaian legal counsel.

The Board of Directors wish to thank Mr. Ennison for his influence and dedication to the Company.

The additions of Messrs Askew, Bradford and Anderson will further strengthen the Board of Directors as the Company focuses on the financing and development of the Obotan Gold Project in Ghana, West Africa.

On behalf of the Board,
Ross Ashton
Interim Chair