Reps condemn killing of 19 people, destruction of villages in Kaduna

By Luka Binniyat

KADUNA – Seven members of the House of Representatives from Southern Kaduna, Tuesday, denounced the killing of 19 people and the complete destruction of four villages by suspected Fulani herdsmen in Atakar Chiefdom, Kaura Local Government Area of Kaduna State.

Rising from an emergency meeting in Abuja, they said that they received with shock, the killing of members of their electorate and asked both the federal and Kaduna State governments to beef up security in the area to stop further killing of innocent citizens.

A statement signed by five of the seven representatives read in part: “We the members of the House of Representatives from Southern Kaduna comprising of the following constituencies namely, Kaura, Jaba/Zango Kataf, Kauru, Jema’a/Sanga and Kachia/Kagarko, met today April 2, 2013 in Abuja to review the renewed attacks in the zone and came up with the following resolutions:

“To condemn in its entirety the renewed attacks on Southern Kaduna villages particularly the one that happened in Kaura which claimed more than 20 lives already, with four villages totally burnt down.

“To commiserate with the affected communities and call on all relevant government agencies to provide urgently, relief materials to cushion the effects on the displaced persons particularly women and children sheltered at the various primary schools in Kaura Local Government Area.

“To plead with the entire people of Southern Kaduna Senatorial zone to remain calm, orderly and peaceful even in the face of the unnecessary attacks on them. We ask the communities to be law abiding but vigilant.

“To immediately ask the Government of Kaduna State to deploy further detachment of armed security personnel to the affected areas to ensure peace and security of lives and property.

“To call on the Federal Government of Nigeria to urgently bring to an end the incessant attacks on the people of the Southern Kaduna Senatorial Zone.”

The five members who signed the statement were Gideon Gwani, (Kaura Federal Constituency); Godfrey Gaiya, (Jaba/Zango Kataf Constituency);  Adams Jagaba Adams, (Kachia/Kagarko Constituency); Simon Arabo, (Kauru Federal Constituency); and Shehu Garba ( Jema’a/Sanga).

Comments are moderated. Please keep them clean and brief.