Okorocha Moves 7 Commissioners, Merges Ministries

Gov. Rochas Okorocha of Imo has moved seven commissioner and merged some ministries, to enhance service delivery in the state.

The changes were contained in a statement, issued in Owerri on Thursday by Mr Chinedu Offor, at the end of the State Executive Council meeting.

Offor, who was the former Commissioner for Information and Strategy is the new Commissioner for Information, Culture and Tourism, according to the statement.

It said that Mrs Ugochi Nnanna-Okoro, the former Commissioner for Culture and Tourism was now the Commissioner for Community Government.

The former Commissioner for Economic Planning, Mr Nic Opara-Ndudu, has been moved to the Ministry of Works and Transport.

The statement added that the Deputy Governor of the state, Sir Jude Agbaso, ceased to double as commissioner for works, with the reshuffle.

It further disclosed that Mr Uche Nwosu, former Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Planning, had been named the new Commissioner for Lands and Housing.

Prof. Chima Iwuchukwu, formerly of Community Government took charge of Planning while Mr Charles Onuoha, former Commissioner for Housing, was moved to the Ministry for Special Duties.

The statement also named Dr Iheanyi Nwachukwu, former Commissioner for Special Duties as the new Commissioner for Public Utilities, Public Safety and Youth Empowerment.

Mr Charles Onuoha, formerly in charge of housing was moved to Special Duties, the statement said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that commissioners who retained their portfolios are Prof. Adaobi Obasi (Education), Dr Obi Njoku (Health), Adaora Ijezie and Soronnadi Njoku (Justice).

Otheres are those of Finance and Environment. (NAN)