NDC Elects Lawyer To Contest Akatsi South by-election

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) delegates in the Akatsi South constituency have elected Lawyer Bernard Ahiafor as their Parliamentary candidate after he polled 276 votes in the constituency primary on Saturday.

He beat three other aspirants and will contest in the by-election in the Akatsi South constituency to be held on Saturday, February 5.

The others were, Prince Kassim Alubankudi, Secretary to UK/Ireland branch of NDC who poled 37 votes, Mr Simon Mawutor Adzrah, National Administrator of the NDC Heroes fund polled 20 votes and Mr William Kpormatsi, Constituency Propaganda Secretary had 5 votes.

The Akatsi South seat became vacant following the election of Edward Doe Adjaho, winner of the 2012 parliamentary polls as Speaker of Parliament on January 7.

The Volta Regional Chairman of the NDC, Kwesi Aboagye told Citi News, preparations are underway at the Akatsi College of Education for the by-election on February 5.

He stated that four persons will be contesting the Akatsi South Parliamentary seat.