8.6 C
Sunday, May 29, 2022

Independent candidates cannot contest bye-elections on NDC ticket

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Politics of Wednesday, 16 January 2013

Source: GNA

Emblem Ndc

Members of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) who contested the 2012 parliamentary election as independent candidates need to re-apply to rejoin the party to qualify to contest bye-elections on the party’s ticket.

Mr Simon Amegashie-Viglo, Volta Regional Secretary of the Party, stated this in response to questions by reporters on the eligibility of those candidates to contest the vacant Akatsi-South and Buem constituency seats on the NDC’s ticket.

He said such candidates could however contest those bye-elections as independent candidates once they had satisfied the conditions spelt out by the Electoral Commission.

Mr Amegashie-Viglo said 10 candidates had picked forms seeking the Party’s endorsement to contest the Buem seat, while seven others are seeking to be selected by the Party to contest the Akatsi-South seat.

Vetting of the prospective candidates begins at the Residency Ho, today, Wednesday January 16, 2013.

The Buem seat became vacant following the death of Mr Ford Henry Kamel who was re-elected MP on the ticket of the NDC in the December 2012 Parliamentary election.

The Akatsi-South seat on the other hand was vacated by Mr Edward Doe Adjaho who was elected as Speaker of Parliament.

- Advertisement -
Latest news
Related news