Gabon announce 2012 Africa Cup of Nations squad

Gabon coach Gernot Rohr published his final 23-man squad for the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) on Tuesday. The Frenchman included Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang while omitting two of the Saint Etienne striker’s brothers.

The other players who were cut are Roger Issakounia and Allen Nono. Meanwhile, Gabonese club US Bitam have contributed the most from the local league with five players selected.

The co-hosts of the upcoming continental showcase have brought back 14 of the 23 players who represented the Panthers at the previous edition two years ago in Angola.

Gabon were drawn in group C alongside north African giants Morocco and Tunisia and begin their tournament on January 23 in Libreville with a match against surprise qualifiers Niger.

Name Club
Yann Bidonga Mangasport
Stephane Bitseki Moto US Bitam
Didier Ovono Le Mans
Georges Ambourouet Missile FC
Moise Brou Apanga Brest
Bruno Ecuele Manga Lorient
Remy Ebanega US Bitam
Edmond Mouele Mangasport
Rodrigue Moundounga Olympique Beja
Charly Moussonou Missile FC
Henri Ndong Henri Ndong
Andre Biyogo Poko Bordeaux
Cedric Boussougou Mangasport
Levy Madinda Celta Vigo
Bruno Mbanangoye Zita Dinamo Minsk
Cedric Moubamba US Bitam
Lloyd Palun Nice
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Saint-Etienne
Daniel Cousin FC Sapins
Fabrice Do Marcolino Laval
Roguy Meye Zalaegerszeg
Eric Mouloungui Nice
Stephane Nguema US Bitam