Omar gets another 4yrs as NLC President, vows to focus on minimum wage


    Abuja – Mr Abdulwahed Omar has been returned unopposed as the President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) for another four years at its National Delegates’ Conference in Abuja.

    He was returned unopposed on Thursday with the Congress’ National Treasurer, Mr Waba Ayuba, the President, Health Workers Union of Nigeria.

    In his acceptance address, Omar said that the members of the executive would improve on the welfare of workers and promised to focus on payment of the new national minimum wage.

    The Senate and the House of Representatives have passed an executive bill prescribing a new minimum wage of N18,000.

    The new national minimum wage bill when signed into law would replace the 2000 national minimum wage of N5,500 signed into law by former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

    He said: “The new executives will lead and not rule the workers.  It is the workers’ decision that is why we are able to hold the mandate.

    “Our job as executives of the congress is to discharge our duties to the best of our abilities. Be assured that your mandate is in good hands.”

    Earlier, Mr Hassan Summonu, the pioneer Leader of NLC, congratulated the workers for their patient and their conduct at the election.

    The elected Deputy Presidents are Mr Promise Adewusi, the President, Senior Staff Association of Nigeria Universities (SSANU), Mr Joseph Ajaero of the National Union of Electricity Employees  and Mr Shuaibu Kiri, the President, Nigeria Civil Service Union.

    The Vice Presidents are Mr Isa Aremu, the General Secretary, National Union of Textile, Garment, Tailoring and Workers of Nigeria and Mr Lawal Hussaini, the President, National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives.

    Other Vice presidents include Mr Nted Emmanuel, the President, Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria and Mr Emmanuel Ajoku, the President, Amalgamated Union of Public Corporations, Civil Service Technical Recreational Service Employees.

    The National Auditors are Mr Samuel Adeoye, the President, National Union of Civil Engineering, Construction, Furniture and Wood Workers and Mr Bunguda Abdullahi, the President, Agriculture and Allied Union of Nigeria.

    Mr Danjuma Kunini, the President National Union of Printing, Publishing and Paper Products was also elected as one of the National Auditors.

    Mrs Amina Danisa, a member of Association of Senior Staff of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institution and Mrs Sara Gana General Secretary of National Union of Secretaries are the ex-officio members.

    The delegates conference was held between March 1 and March 3 with the theme: “Building a New Nigeria: The role of the Working Class Toward National Transformation”

    Comments are moderated. Please keep them clean and brief.

    Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.
    blog comments powered by

    See more here:
    Omar gets another 4yrs as NLC President, vows to focus on minimum wage